Exposure..

Once you learn how to use your camera, you can get much better photos. The photos you see below are raw from the camera, the only thing I did was resize them so they were not 6.8mb each. ๐Ÿ™‚

I truly wish we had done our photography tour with Alex from Oahu Photography Tours much earlier in our trip. I now call time Pre-Alex, and After-Alex.

nonex1

Above you see the last photo I took Pre-Alex. The next photo below is After-Alex. These photos were taken one minute apart.

ex1

You see how the colours pop out? How the sky is suddenly filled with clouds catching the light? How the lights in the sky now reflect in the ocean? How the rocks are darker and more moody? All Alex did was show me how to change a couple of settings in the camera – most importantly, how to change the exposure to -2.

For the rest of the trip, whenever I took a photo, I would be all “Oh MAN” because my photos always came out looking even better than what I was seeing with my own eyes.

I don’t have an expensive camera. This is just a little point and shoot Panasonic Lumix, less than $300. It does not matter what kind of camera you have, you can get better photos by knowing how to use it. ๐Ÿ™‚ And one of the best places in the world to learn to take photos better than you currently do is the extremely photogenic Hawaii.

If you get the chance to take any of the tours Alex offers not only will you have a great time but you will learn how to take even better photos, and you will learn some true nuggets of photography wisdom.

You will probably get tired of us talking about this tour and showing you our pics but we had such a great time – following rainbows, chasing waterfalls, finding turtles.

