Welcome Home To Us..

Wow, what a trip. I’m not even sure where to begin telling y’all the story of it. I guess begin at the beginning and then work our way to the end.

goinghome

Heading home on Hawaiian Airlines just after takeoff from Oahu

Over the next few weeks here on the blog as well as on Tripadvisor and various review sites, myself and Bigaln2 will be sharing stories, photographs, thoughts, memories and experiences – and a heck of a lot of food reviews and food photos.

We talked about it plenty and to be honest none of us could name one thing we did not like or enjoy during our trip. There were some experiences which could have been better – most notably for me, a tour we did on the Big Island to the Mauna Kea summit. There were some shopping trips which felt like a failure to me because I did not find exactly what I was looking for, though I often found something else which made up for it.

There was one small sunburn to my feet after we went snorkelling on the Monday – it was the walk back to the hotel which got me. I was wearing the rash vest and leggings and I had put sunscreen on my feet when we first arrived but we were there for so long, plus being in the water, once I got out and washed the sand off my feet I put sunscreen on again but it didn’t seem to work. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

There were discoveries of new brands – most notably a brand called Fitflop which are some of the most comfortable “flip-flops” I have ever worn with the added benefit of being sparkly.

There were jewellery purchases of all kinds – in particular my favourite Mystic Topaz.

ring

There was a lot of photography – between the two of us the other half and I brought home 35 gig of photos. There were all kinds of photos taken, everything from toilets to turtles to rainbows to flowers to the insides of gift stores to sunsets and sunrises. I personally took 2,769 photos.

We did a great photography tour with Alex from Oahu Photography Tours who – in five short minutes – changed my photos forever just by showing me how to use my own camera more effectively. I cannot recommend this tour enough and I will be talking about it plenty and showing you some of the amazing pics from that tour.

I bought four books from Pearl Harbor and I will tell you all about those and review them once I have read them.

We loved our condo especially the very comfortable couches – here is a link to the one we stayed in – I will write up a post about that too. I would not recommend it to everyone, but it was perfect for us and our purposes.

We have a lot of great posts planned – now we just need the time to write them. ๐Ÿ™‚

So sit back, relax, settle in, enjoy our upcoming posts.

